2020 IPO Virtual Annual Meeting

/2020 IPO Virtual Annual Meeting
2020 IPO Virtual Annual Meeting 2020-09-17T17:02:13-04:00

Registration Fees

IPO Member: $350 on/after September 1
Non-member: $700 on/after September 1
IPO Member Group Discount: Any member organization that has 5 paid attendees can send additional employees for free. Contact meetings@ipo.org to confirm you have 5 paying attendees before registering additional employees. If you would like to register all 5 attendees with one payment option, click here for a Group Registration Form.

Contact us with questions about registration or the meeting.

We are looking forward to bringing our members together in a new and innovative way this year for the 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting on a secure and engaging virtual platform.


The IPO Annual Meeting offers a mix of educational programs featuring leaders in the IP industry, committee meetings, networking opportunities, exhibits, and more. This must attend event brings together IP professionals from around the world to discuss strategies, trends, and best practices. More than 30 education sessions will be offered on patents, trademarks, copyrights, industrial designs, and -new this year! – operations. In addition to the sessions planned by IPO’s Program Committee, several sessions are being organized by IPO’s Standing IP Committees. Organizing committees are noted in the session descriptions in the brochure.

All sessions will be available on-demand for attendees to view anytime, anywhere. In the sessions descriptions that begin on page 6 of the brochure, IPO indicates which sessions will be live and on-demand as well as just on-demand. Dates and times for the live sessions will be announced in the coming weeks.

In addition to excellent education sessions, IPO’s annual meeting is also known for our networking opportunities. We have designed the program with this in mind. Attendees will have the ability to reconnect with friends and build new connections through one of our many networking opportunities:

  • Themed Breaks and Gatherings
  • Workshops hosted by IPO Committees
  • Networking Receptions
  • Women in IP Gathering
  • Virtual Fitness
  • Virtual IP Expo Hall

Keynote Address by
Poppy Crum

Chief Scientist
Dolby Laboratories

September 24
3:30pm ET

Interactive Sessions, Networking, and More! Click on the brochure below for more information.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The program will be updated periodically, so please check back often.

The IPO Virtual Annual Meeting offers:

  • Diversity & Inclusion Practical Guide Workshop
  • Lessons in Leadership from Chief IP Counsel Workshop
  • Effective Communication – Teaming for Success Workshop
  • 30+ Education Sessions
  • Themed Breaks and Gatherings
  • Virtual Networking and Discussion Forums
  • Women in IP Gathering
  • Virtual Fitness
  • IP Expo Hall and Demonstrations

Sponsorship Opportunities

For more information or to view the Sponsorship Kit, contact Clara Stanfield. 

Sessions Sponsor
Welcome Reception
Closing Reception
Sessions Sponsor
Women in IP & Sessions

Media Partners

IP Expo Hall

For more information about IPO’s expo hall or to become an exhibitor contact Clara Stanfield.

The IP Virtual Expo Hall is open to IPO members only. Visit IPO’s membership page for more information.

Committee Activities

Committees play an integral role in policy development at IPO by researching and providing analysis on current IP issues and producing recommendations for the Board of Directors.

Many of IPO’s Standing IP Committees will hold Business Meetings preceding the Virtual Annual Meeting. Below is a list of committees and their meeting times.

Meeting are open to registered attendees of the annual meeting. You do not have to be a member of the committee to attend.

Check back regularly for updates.

 

Wednesday, September 16

10:00am-11:00am ET

  • AI & Other Emerging Technologies
  • Asian Practice
  • International Patent Law & Trade

12:00pm-1:00pm ET

  • Corporate IP Management & Operations
  • European Practice
  • Standards Setting
  • U.S. Post Grant Patent Office Practice
  • Women in IP Law

2:00pm-3:00pm ET

  • Damages & Injunctions
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Next Generation Leaders
  • Patent Licensing
  • Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology Issues
  • Software Related Inventions
  • Trade Secrets
  • US Patent Law

4:00pm-5:00pm ET

  • Anti-Counterfeiting
  • Canadian Practice
  • Copyright & Anti-Piracy
  • Industrial Designs
  • International Trademark Law & Practice
  • U.S. Patent Office Practice
  • U.S. Trademark Law

CLE Info

Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit will be applied for. When registering, attendees will note which states they plan to submit for CLE.
For questions about CLE, please contact Susan Lusk at susan@ipo.org.

Accommodations

The IPO Annual Meeting is now virtual. If you had previously made your hotel reservation at the Manchester Grand Hyatt, please cancel your reservation directly with the hotel.

Manchester Grand Hyatt
1 Market Place, San Diego, California 92101
Central Reservation: + 1 (800) 233-1234

IPO MEETING POLICIES

Attendee List Policy

Registration constitutes agreement by registrant for IPO to list registrant name, organization, and location on the attendee list. The attendee list is available to registrants on the first day of the meeting via the meeting platform.

Meeting Photo Waiver and Release Policy

Registration and attendance at, or participation in, IPO meetings and other activities constitutes an agreement by the registrant for IPO to use and distribute (both now and in the future), the registrant or attendee’s image or voice in photographs and audio/filming of such events and activities. These photos, audio, or film are for IPO use only and may appear on the IPO Website, newsletter, conference brochures, social media outlets, or other future IPO promotional material. This also includes photos uploaded by attendees using the IPO meeting platform or use of the public chat and forum platforms. For concerns about your image or likeness being used in this manner, please contact meetings@ipo.org.

Cancellation Policy

Cancellations must be submitted in writing to meetings@ipo.org. Cancellations received by Monday, August 31, will be subject to a $50 processing fee. No refunds will be given for cancellations received on or after August 31, 2020. These deadlines for cancellation apply to all registrants. Course materials via the Meeting Platform will be available to those unable to attend who cancel on or after August 31. Refunds will not be given for no-shows. Please note that fees are not transferable to another IPO meeting. Sharing materials or user’s access to the IPO Annual Meeting Platform is strictly prohibited. IPO reserves the right to cancel this event without liability, and the total amount of any and all liability of the organizers will be limited to a refund of the registration fee.

IPO will be hosting 30-minute networking coffee breaks throughout the Virtual Annual Meeting. All breaks will provide real-time, face-to-face interaction with other attendees. Each break will have a topic or theme – join one or join them all! We look forward to talking with you.

How will the networking work?

IPO is using Remo and Zoom for networking. IPO will provide links to each event within the meeting platform. IPO recommends that you turn your camera and microphone on for the best experience.

Remo is a virtual networking platform that allows attendees to have conversations in small groups. Attendees will be able to freely move around the room as well as send private chats to other attendees. The image to the left is a sample of what a break room will look like in Remo. Note: Remo works on PCs and smartphones. Unfortunately, it does not work on tablets.
Zoom is a virtual networking platform that allows attendees to view presentations as well as have conversations with other attendees in a larger group setting. The image to the left is an example of what a break room will look like in Zoom. Note: Zoom works on PCs, smartphones, and tablets.

 

Monday, September 21

9:00am PT/12:00pm ET/6:00pm CET/12:00am SGT/2:00am AEST

Trademarks, Copyrights, and Industrial Designs – Meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss a session you attended, hot topics in your practice area, best practices, or mutual interests! IPO will have designated areas for trademarks, copyrights, and industrial designs. This break will be hosted by Clara Stanfield, IPO’s Senior Manager of Meetings and Events.

Patents and Operations – Meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss a session you attended, hot topics in your practice area, best practices, or mutual interests! IPO will have areas designated for litigation, prosecution, and operations. This break will be hosted by Megan Griggs, IPO’s Director of Meetings and Events.

Monday, September 21

10:30am PT/1:30pm ET/7:30pm CET/1:30am SGT/3:30am AEST

Podcast Club – Similar to a book club, but the discussion will be around podcasts. Have you listened to a good podcast lately? Or are you looking for recommendations? Join this networking event to find out what your peers have been listening to this summer. Kristen Lurye, IPO’s Fundraising and Program Manager, will kick off the discussion with a preview of IPO Education Foundation’s podcast, Stroke of Genius™.

IPO Membership Orientation & Networking – New and prospective members are welcome to attend this orientation and networking event to meet other new members and to learn about member benefits. The discussion will be led by Matt Rankin, IPO’s Director of Membership. He will be joined by members of IPO’s Membership Committee.

Tuesday, September 22

5:00am PT/8:00am ET/2:00pm CET/8:00pm SGT/10:00pm AEST

International Networking – Bring your coffee, tea, or cocktail and network with your peers face-to-face from around the globe. IPO will have spaces designated for geographic areas (Asia, Europe, North America, Latin America). This event will be hosted by Clara Stanfield, IPO’s Senior Manager of Meetings and Events.

Tuesday, September 22

9:00am PT/12:00pm ET/6:00pm CET/12:00am SGT/2:00am AEST

Maintaining Wellness While Working Remotely – It is common for everybody to feel stress in their daily lives. Limited social interaction and managing your work-life balance (working and homeschooling) are a few issues people face when working remotely. Share tips with your peers on what you are doing to reduce stress. Are you taking a daily walk, creating routines, taking a vacation, socializing? IPO’s Deputy Executive Director and Chief Policy Officer, Samantha Aguayo will be hosting this break.

IPO International Update – Join IPO’s Director of International Affairs, Tom Valente, for an update on IPO’s International efforts.

Tuesday, September 22

10:30am PT/1:30pm ET/7:30pm CET/1:30am SGT/3:30am AEST

Join IPO’s Professional and Business Committees during this break and meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss a session you attended, hot topics in your practice area, best practices, or mutual interests! Nick Evans, IPO’s Operations Manager, will be hosting this break. Areas will be designated for the following groups:

  • Women in IP
  • Corporate IP Management
  • Operations
  • Black IP Professionals
  • Asian IP Professionals
  • Hispanic IP Professionals
  • Pride & Allies IP Professionals
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Next Generation Leaders

Wednesday, September 23

8:30am PT/11:30am ET/5:30pm CET/11:30pm SGT/1:30am AEST

Book Club – Join IPO’s coffee break to find out what your peers have been reading this summer. Have you read any good books lately? Or are you looking for recommendations? Network in a real-time, face-to-face setting with your peers. IPO’s Deputy Executive Director and Chief Policy Officer, Samantha Aguayo will be hosting this break.

Wednesday, September 23

11:00am PT/2:00pm ET/8:00pm CET/2:00am SGT/4:00am AEST

Trademarks, Copyrights, and Industrial Designs – Meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss a session you attended, hot topics in your practice area, best practices, or mutual interests! IPO will have designated areas for trademarks, copyrights, and industrial designs. This break will be hosted by Clara Stanfield, IPO’s Senior Manager of Meetings and Events.

Patents and Operations – Meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss a session you attended, hot topics in your practice area, best practices, or mutual interests! IPO will have areas designated for litigation, prosecution, and operations. This break will be hosted by Megan Griggs, IPO’s Director of Meetings and Events.

Thursday, September 24

8:30am PT/11:30am ET/5:30pm CET/11:30pm SGT/1:30am AEST

IPO Legislative Update – Join IPO’s Deputy Executive Director and Chief Policy Officer, Samantha Aguayo, for an update on IPO’s domestic policy efforts.

Cooking Tips/Kitchen Hacks – Join Nick Evans, IPO’s Operations Manager and founder of Macheesmo.com to discuss cooking tips and kitchen hacks. Nick runs a food blog, has published a cook book, and has been on a reality TV cooking show! Ask Nick questions or share your favorite recipes.

Thursday, September 24

11:00am PT/2:00pm ET/8:00pm CET/2:00am SGT/4:00am AEST

Join IPO’s break room to meet face-to-face with colleagues to discuss committee organized on-demand sessions. Speakers from the panels will be available to answer questions. This break will be hosted by Clara Stanfield, IPO’s Senior Manager of Meetings and Events.

Skip to toolbar