

President Karen Cochran Shell Oil Company

Vice President
Krish Gupta
Dell Technologies

Treasurer

Daniel Enebo

Cargill, Incorporated

August 3, 2022

The Honorable Thom Tillis United States Senate 113 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Tillis,

Intellectual Property Owners Association (IPO) writes to thank you for introducing the Patent Eligibility Restoration Act of 2022 to amend 35 U.S.C. § 101, addressing subject matter eligibility. We appreciate your leadership offering a legislative proposal to address concerns about the Supreme Court's recent jurisprudence in this area of law. We look forward to working with you to explore possibilities for legislative reform that balances the varying interests of IPO's members and that promotes innovation, investment, and job creation in the U.S.

IPO is an international trade association representing a "big tent" of diverse companies, law firms, service providers and individuals in all industries and fields of technology that own, or are interested in, intellectual property (IP) rights. IPO membership includes over 125 companies and spans over 30 countries. IPO advocates for effective and affordable IP ownership rights and offers a wide array of services, including supporting member interests relating to legislative and international issues; analyzing current IP issues; providing information and educational services; supporting and advocating for diversity, equity, and inclusion in IP and innovation; and disseminating information to the public on the importance of IP rights.

IPO believes the patent system should incentivize innovation, creativity, and investment necessary to improve lives. While our members have diverse views, collectively we offer insights that are inclusive and balanced. We stand ready to support the process.

Thank you for your leadership and we look forward to assisting in any way we can.

Sincerely,

Karen Cochran

President

Tyrome Brown **Dolby Laboratories** John Cheek Tenneco Inc. Tonya Combs Eli Lilly and Co. Gwendolyn Dawson Exxon Mobil Corp. Robert DeBerardine Johnson & Johnson Buckmaster de Wolf General Electric Co. Anthony DiBartolomeo Matthew Fitzpatrick Procter & Gamble Co Yen Florczak 3M Innovative Properties Inc. Louis Foreman Enventys Scott M. Frank AT&T Darryl P. Frickey Dow Chemical Co Gary C. Ganzi Evoqua Water Technologies LLC Tanuja Garde Robert Giles Qualcomm, Inc. Henry Hadad Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. Lori Heinrichs Boston Scientific Corp. Thomas R. Kinasbury Bridgestone Americas Holding Co. Laurie Kowalsky Koninklijke Philips N.V William Krovatin Merck & Co., Inc. Michael C. Lee Google Inc. Elizabeth Lester Equifax Inc. Aseem Mehta Bayer Intellectual Property GmbH William Miller General Mills, Inc Kelsey Milman Caterpillar Inc. Jeffrey Myers Robin Nava Schlumberger, Ltd. Courtney Nelson Wills Medtronic, Inc. Christina Petersson **Troy Prince** Raytheon Technologies KaRan Reed BP America, Inc. Paul Saraceni Nike, Inc Matthew Sarboraria Oracle Corp. Manny Schecter IBM. Corp. **Derek Scott** Roche, Inc. Jessica Sinnott Thomas Smith GlaxoSmithKline Gillian Thackray Thermo Fisher Scientific Phyllis Turner-Brim HP Inc Stuart Watt Amgen, Inc. Bryan Zielinski

Directors Steve Akerley

Brett Alten

Ron Antush

Thomas Beall

InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

Nokia of America Corp.
Scott Barker
Micron Technology, Inc.

General Counsel

Lauren Leyden
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Pfizer Inc.